In Sanskrut language chakra means wheel.

Chakras are located both at front and back side of the body. The energy in chakra is continuously rotating clockwise. Each chakra rotates at its own speed. The root chakra moves at a slow speed and the crown chakra moves at a very high speed.

Chakras not only affect our physical body but it also affects our emotions. Each chakra has its own color and to balance itself it uses color from the universal cosmic energy. If the chakras are not balanced then the universal life force will slow down and hence would creating problems in physical body. If the chakras are closed it would block universal energy flow resulting in diseases in body. To balance the chakras crystals of different colors can be used.

Crystals make a wonderful healing tool as crystals respond to electricity in our body and if the electrical vibrations are imbalanced crystals balances the energy field.

Before using crystals for healing first we must understand the healing properties of crystals on different parts of body. Clear Quartz crystals have magnificent healing properties and balances energy.
The time of healing a person with crystals depends from person to person as each patient has different energy filed and healing need.

Healing can also be done using different crystals for different chakras as according to its chakra color.

Crystals and chakras :-

Root Chakra (Muladhar) – Color – Red :

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and the pubic bone in front. It holds the basic needs for survival, security and safety. The root chakra is related to our contact with the mother earth. When you are trying to make things happen in the material world the energy to success comes from the root chakra.

If this chakra is blocked a person may feel fearful, anxious, insecure and frustrated. Health problems like obesity, anorexia nervosa, and knee troubles can occur. Root chakra includes the hips, legs, lower back and sexual organs. The colors used for this chakra are red, brown and black. The crystals for balancing of root chakra are Garnet, Smoky Quartz, and Black Tourmaline.

Hara Chakra (Swadhishthan) – Color - Orange :

The Hara chakra is located two inches below the navel and is rooted into the spine. It holds the basic needs for sexuality, creativity, intuition, and self-worth. This chakra is also about friendliness, creativity, and emotions. It governs people’s self-confidence in their own creativity. It is influenced by how emotions were expressed or repressed in the family during childhood.

A well balanced Hara Chakra makes emotions flow freely. If this chakra is blocked a person may feel emotionally explosive, manipulative, obsessed with thoughts of sex or may lack energy. Physical problems include kidney weakness, stiff lower back and constipation. The main color used with this chakra is orange. Crystals used for balancing of this chakra are Carnelian, Orange Calcite and Tigers Eye.

Solar Plexus (Manipur) – Color - Yellow :

It is located two inches below the breastbone. The Solar Plexus is the center of personal power, the place of ego, of passions, impulses, anger and strength. It is also the center for astral travel and astral influences and psychic development. When it is out of balance you may lack confidence, be confused, worry about what others think, feel that others are controlling your life and depressed.

Physical problems may include digestive difficulties, liver problems, diabetes, nervous exhaustion, and food allergies.

If this chakra is balanced a person feels cheerful, outgoing, have self-respect, expressive, enjoy taking on new challenges, and have a strong sense of personal power. The body parts for this chakra include the stomach, liver, gall bladder, pancreas and small intestine. The main color for this chakra is yellow. The gemstones are Citrine, Topaz, and Yellow Calcite.

Heart Chakra (Anahat) – Color - Green :

It is located behind the breast bone in front and on the spine between the shoulder blades in back. It is the center for love, compassion and spirituality and connects body and mind with spirit.

If this chakra is out of balance a person feels sorry for himself, paranoid, indecisive, afraid of letting go and afraid of getting hurt.

Physical illnesses include heart attack, high blood pressure, insomnia and difficulty in breathing.

When this chakra is balanced you may feel compassionate, friendly and empathetic and see the good in everyone. Body parts for the fourth chakra include heart, lungs, circulatory system, shoulders, and upper back. The main colors used are pink and green. The gemstones are Rose Quartz, Chrysoprase and Jade.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddh) – Color - Blue :

It is located in the V of the collarbone at the lower neck. It is center of communication, sound and expression of creativity via thought, speech, and writing. The throat is where anger is stored and finally bursts.

When this chakra is out of balance you may want to hold back, feel timid, be quiet or can't express your thoughts.

Physical illnesses or ailments include, hyperthyroid, sore throat, inflammations, and back pain. When this chakra is balanced you may feel balanced, musically or artistically inspired and may be a good speaker. Body parts for the fifth chakra are throat, neck, teeth, ears, and thyroid gland.

The main color used is light blue. The gemstones are Aquamarine and Azurite.

Third Eye (Ajna) – Color - Indigo :

It is located above the physical eyes on the center of the forehead. This is the center for psychic ability, higher intuition, the energies of spirit and light. Through the power of Third Eye a person can receive guidance and tune into his/her Higher Self.

When this chakra is not balanced you may feel afraid of success and be egotistical. Physical symptoms may include headaches, blurred vision and eyestrain. When this chakra is balanced and open you are a person is his/her own master with no fear of death, are not attached to material things he/she may experience telepathy, astral travel and past lives. Sixth chakra body parts include the eyes, face and brain. The main colors are purple and dark blue. The crystals for this chakra are Clear Quartz and Amethyst.

The Crown (Sahasrar) – Color - Violet :

It is located just behind the top of the skull. It is the center of spirituality, enlightenment and energy. It allows for the inward flow of wisdom. This is also the center for connecting with God. The silver cord that connects the aura bodies extends from the crown.

When this chakra is unbalanced a person may be constantly frustrated and has destructive feelings. Illnesses may include migraine headaches and depression. Balanced energy in this chakra may include the ability to open up to the Divine and total access to the unconscious and subconscious. The main colors for the crown are white and purple. The crystals for this chakra are Clear Quartz, Oregon Opal and Amethyst.