Traditionally, there are four different stages in the Kundalini process :-

1. Awakening stage (arambh)
2. Cleansing stage (ghat)
3. Absorption stage (parichay)
4. Final stage (nishpatti)

1. Awakening stage (arambha):

Technically speaking, the Kundalini is considered awakened when the shell of the Kundalini is broken and so is the knot of the base chakra, normally referred to as the Brahm knot as this knot is very close to the Kundalini center.

2. Cleansing stage (Ghata):

After the Kundalini energy opens the second big chakra knot at the heart chakra, Kundalini energy can flow easier toward different parts of the body to do more thorough cleansing.

3. Absorption stage (Pacihaya) :

At this stage, the cleansing is done in different body layers.

4. Final Stage (Nishpatti):

When the Kundalini opens the third and last big chakra knot at the ajna (third eye chakra), called the Rudra, the person is only one step away from getting the crown chakra open. As the crown chakra opens, one will be able to achieve self realization, cosmic realization, and then Yog.