According to Purans :

Brahma is the god, first represented in the Hindu Triad. He is the creator of the universe and all living beings are said to have evolved from him.

Brahma is considered having four heads with white beard and four arms. His hands hold a kamandal, a rosary, a sacrificial ladle and the Vedas. Brahma is sometimes depicted as sitting on a lotus. The four Ved's are said to have originated from his head. The four castes are also believed to have originated from Brahma. The Brahmin's from his head, the Kshatriyas from his arms, the Vaishyas from his thighs, and the Shudras from his feet.

Lord Brahma's one day is called a kalp, the creation of Brahma is called vikalp and the creation of the total creation is called mahakalp.

In the Skand Puran, Brahma's thirty days are mentioned :

Svet Varaha
Kandarp Agneya Gauri
Sadyat Visnuj Maheshwar

Each day of Brahma is a duration of one thousand divya yugs. A divya yug comprises of one thousand of the four yugas. The same duration comprises his night.

In the beginning Brahma created the four Kumars; Sanak, Sanand, Sanatan and Sanat Kumar.

Brahma asked his four sons to generate progeny. The Kumars declined so, Brahma created his 10 mind born sons.

Brahma's mind born sons are the seers Mareeci, Atri, Angiras, Pulastya, Pulah, Kratu, Pracetas known as Daksh, Vashisht, Bhrgu and Naarad.

From Brahma's body came his nine sons Daksh, Dharma, Kama, Anger, Greed, Delusion (Maya), Lust, Joy, Death and Bharat and one daughter called Angaja.

Some accounts also say that Agni is the first son of Brahma. Agni was married to Swaha and has three sons Pavak, Pavaman and Suchi. Swadha was his second wife. Both his wives are invoked while pouring oblations in the fire or making offerings in Yagna and other religious rituals.

Brahma created 1 Prajapati and 9 Brahmins, who are believed to be the fathers of the human race. Their names, according to the Manusmriti are Marichi, Atri, Angiras, Pulastya, Pulah, Kratu, Vasishth, Daksh, Bhrigu, and Narad. These are believed to be born from the mind of Brahma. He is also believed to have created the Saptarishi or seven great sages to help him create the universe.

The world is said to exist for one kalp or one day in the life of Brahma. At the end of a kalp the whole world is destroyed. Brahma is then believed to go to sleep for one night which is as long as a kalp. When he awakens he recreates the world. This process (pralaya) is repeated for 100 years of Brahma which is the life span of one Brahma. Then everything dissolves into its constituent elements. This whole process is repeated unendingly.

Brahma's abode is known as Brahmalok, which is said to contain all the splendors of earth and of the heavens of the other gods. His vehicle or vahan is a white swan or goose which has magical abilities. The swan or goose can separate som and milk from water. Therefore this bird is also a symbol of sifting good from evil. Unlike other deities Brahma does not have a weapon. Being the lord of sacrifices he is identified with a scepter in the form of a spoon.

His consort is Sarasvati the goddess of wisdom and science, the mother of the Veds, and the inventor of the Devanagari script. She is represented as a fair woman with four arms, dressed in white and seated on a white lotus. As goddess of the arts she is shown playing or holding a veena. In one of her right hands she holds a book of palm leaves and in the other a lotus. In her left hand she has a string of pearls and a damaru.