Panchmukhi Gayatri

Gayatri is a Sanskrit word, made up of two words "Gaa" and "Yatree". "Gaa" means to sing and "Yatree" means protection. Hence it means that those who "worship Gayatri gets protected". Goddess Gayatri is considered as the essence of Upnishads. Gayatri mantra was written and developed by Brahmarishi Vishwamitra. The Puranas mention that only 24 Rishis since ancient time have understood the whole meaning and used the whole power of the Gayatri Mantra. Rishi Vishvamitra is supposed to be the first and Rishi Yajnavalkya the last.

Introduction :-

Gayatri is known as Veda Mata i.e. the mother of all Four Vedas. A person totally devoted to Goddess Gayatri can achieve great success in the path of self advancement as Goddess Gayatri inspires man towards righteous.

Gayatri on swan and lotus:-

It is said that Goddess Gayatri resides in each and every human heart in the form of a swan. If a person meditates deep within he sees a swan which is considered as goddess Gayatri. The swan is the symbol of God realization. The lotus is considered as seat of Goddess Gayatri which means the presence of Divinity and wealth.

Importance of Gayatri mantra :-

The performance of Gayatri mantra helps in self purification and protects a person from the malefic effects of sins. Gayatri mantra serves as a protector for all those who utter the mantra sincerity. The Gayatri mantra is a prayer to the Sun god to free a person from all human sins, physical dissipation and to bestow knowledge, health and longevity.

It has been said that this Gayatri Mantra has to be chanted three times every day: during the sandhyas of early morning, afternoon and evening.

Word by word meaning of Gayatri :-

The primeval sound
The physical world, this earth
The mental world
The spiritual world
That (the Paramatma)
The Sun, Creator
The most adorable, highest
Luster, Effulgence, tejas
Supreme Lord
We meditate upon
Intellect, understanding
Enlightens, guides

Meaning : We meditate on the most Supreme Spirit (Sun) who directs and inspires our intellect.

Gayatri has three phases and so it is called tripada. It is also called tripada because it is Vedmata, Devmata and Vishwamata.

Three step (tripada) Gayatri :-

1. Om Bhur Bhuva Svaha
2. Om Thath Savitur Varenyam Bhargo Devasya Dhimahi
3. Om Dhiyo Yo Naha Prachodhayat

According to Rishi Visvamitra there is no other mantra as powerful as Gayatri Mantra in all the four Vedas. According to Rishi Yagnavalkya Gayatri gains an upper hand in all the mantras.